Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Tuned Piano

This morning the piano tuner came to tune the piano. Well, one of the pianos - I have two. This one is my grand piano (a full-size grand - not a baby, which these days look very little to me) and the one I usually practise on these days.

In order for the tuner to gain access to the piano I had to remove all the stuff I usually store on top of the piano. It looks so wonderful with the lid open, and sounds even better, that I'd love to keep it this way, but I fear the cats trying to climb up the slope with their claws and deciding that the strings were good to sleep on, so, later today, I shall replace the protective blanket and bits that usually live on top.

It was fabulous to have a professional tuner round. He was able to tell me that this piano, made by Ronisch, dates from around the 1880s and is covered in rosewood veneer. He also filled me in on other bits of work that needed doing - he'd like to have the action in his workshop one day, and discussed tuning in general - his father and grandfather were both piano tuners and his son has also entered the trade.

At some point he'll also have a look at my upright. He had a quick look at it this morning and established that, like the grand, it's pretty much at concert pitch. He thinks the upright, which is black in colour and was made by Klingmann of Berlin, dates from around the 1920s. It would be great to get them both tuned to pitch - that way I just need a friend and two-piano works become a possibility in my sitting room - just think!!!

So, a very interesting morning all round. Thanks to @SimonProbert, who recommended this gentleman to me - not only has he improved the tuning of the piano immeasurably, he's also a very interesting gentleman.

And, best of all, the piano's in tune!

This is an edit, added later: If you want to see what the piano looks like with all its stuff back on top then you can see it here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.