Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Oxford Street

This, to me, is the centre of the Universe. I love central London (and most of the suburbs too if I'm honest) and it constantly pulls me back.

There are more people in this one snapshot than live in our entire village - it's a place full of hustle & bustle (although less traffic since they're digging up bits of the Tottenham Court Road end) and I love it.

Yesterday was an odd day (backblipping, the morning after). I had an epic 5-hour nap in the morning, then dragged myself out of the house to go to London. Had a brilliant afternoon shopping for CDs in HMV (fab offers on Mozart Operas/Singspiels), then walking up Piccadilly and exploring many of the streets off there. I then bought some new sandals, met the Wonderspouse for a take-away sushi picnic in Soho Square, walked up to the LRB Bookshop (where I nearly gatecrashed an event) and then back to Punk on Soho Street for a fabulous gig by Anne Pigalle, accompanied on keyboards by the lovely Aaron.

Yet more tweetups too - @aaronmcahill, of course - lovely lovely man, @puyaraimondi, who is totally wonderful, and the fabulous @henryandjane, whose uncle, it turns out, was the Wonderspouse's supervisor when he did his doctoral research - the world really is a very small place!

All in all, a great day out - even if we didn't get to bed until 2.30 a.m.

So many blips to choose from too, but I liked this one best in the end!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.