Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Ominous View

Yesterday (backblipping again) the Wonderspouse took a day of annual leave and we headed off to Wales to climb a hill.

After a beautiful sunny drive with sun roof & windows open, we stopped at Crickhowell, where we found the most wonderful family bakery which supplied me with the tuna jacket potato I'd been hoping would be my lunch and a plentiful supply of nice cakes and bread.

We then drove up the rutted single-track road that follows the valley of Cwm Sorgwm (I nearly blipped the road as a contrast to Oxford Street), put on our walking boots, and set off on the steep but short ascent of Mynydd Troed. The views were very quickly spectacular, and I took several shots similar to this as well as some close-ups of bracken.

If you look at the extreme right of this picture you will see some "haziness"! "Oh look, it's raining over there" we exclaimed. Then I felt a spot on my arm. "I'll put the camera away now I think" I said! Then, a drop turned into a deluge. My handbag was quickly stowed inside the Wonderspouse's rucksack to protect camera and iPhone.

Then came the descent. As quickly as possible, but carefully - we know what damage descent can do to ankles. Two minutes later, we were both soaked to the skin. Literally.

Then we heard the wee-wah of a car alarm - ours! Oops. We continued descending and finally slid down the path (by now a small river) to discover that yes, we HAD left the sun-roof open!

By then, there was nothing to be done but laugh. Unearthing the car keys we stopped the alarm, jumped in, and sat listening to the pelting rain on the now-closed sunroof, admiring the moat that had appeared round the gear stick!

The drive home was eccentric - heater on full blast to dry as much as possible, windows ajar to let the steam out, Schubert on full blast to drown out the noise! When we finally got home we both stripped off in the kitchen, leaving wet clothes steaming on the floor, then got ourselves dry.

After a cup of tea we went to collect fish and chips - sitting on layers of towels on the wet car seats. I don't know what it's like this morning!

And, this morning, I have to report, we both have legs like jelly from the steep climb, I have added "clean inside car" to the jobs list again - I'll be sponging out tide marks I imagine!

I was hoping to christen my new walking boots (see blip of 9th May) with a discreet dip in a small font - in the end we got the full River Jordan experience!

Was a really fun day though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.