Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

You're Goin' Down

In eleven days to be precise.

These two high-rise flats are empty now and being gutted in preparation for the controlled explosions that will bring them tumbling down. They've been landmarks in the town of Kincardine since the late 1960s and as kids, when we went on visits to relatives in Edinburgh, we always looked out for them as they were the first sign that we were nearly home on the trips back. There are three of them in total, and one is being left to house some of the people displaced as a result of the demolition.

The two buildings are strapped up at various levels and the windows blocked of and I'm assuming these are the floors in which the explosives will be fired, with the strapping trying to contain and direct the blast. There are other buildings close by, including a much, much older gothic church and the Scottish Police College in Tulliallan Castle, so they'll have to come down pretty precisely to prevent any damage to the surroundings. You can see how close they are to everything in this picture.

Should make for a good blip if a good vantage point can be found (as mentioned in the forum here), and I'm kind of gutted I'm not going to be around to get that opportunity (but happy at the same time that I'll be off on holiday instead). Hopefully some other blippers will manage along to record this and I can see the event on here.

Talking of landmarks, I reached one of my own on here today - 100 subscribers to my journal - woohoo!

Chuffed to bits (that anyone's interested in my ramblings at all) with a huge thanks to one and all (cheques are in the post).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.