Adda

By Adda

Stupas in the fog

We checked out of our hotel in Thimpu and headed towards a small town called Punakha. The journey took us through one of the high passes - Dochula. Dochula was all covered in fog. These 108 chortens or stupas looked magnificent in the fog. The photo doesn't do justice to what we saw that morning. Another fine lunch in a beautiful rural location was the highlight of the day. We reached our hotel pretty early in the evening. There was still some sunlight so we decided to take a stroll near the hotel. The idea of walking on the tar road was not inspiring me a lot. I saw a track leading to the fields and I immediately set on it. It took a little bit of convincing before Mrs Adda decided to follow me (she didn't have much of a choice either). Minutes later, she was walking in the mud with her slippers in one hand and the other outstretched, trying to balance herself, as if she were walking on a tightrope. The women planting paddy in ankle-deep water were amused to see two aliens climbing up the fields towards them. They asked where we were trying to go. Not having a better answer at the moment, I said - 'up'. 'Up' took us through some houses and kids playing in the dying daylight. I did get a chance to talk to them briefly and take a few pictures. I always feel a trip is incomplete till I get a taste of local food and people. I was glad to find my detour took me through the local habitation and these kids.

P.S. - the way back to the hotel was through the bushes and in one places, Mrs Adda had to be on her fours to climb up to the main road. She was not amused. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.