Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Father's Day is Coming

Father's Day in America is this Sunday. The Hallmark Greeting Card Company makes a fortune on these specialized holidays. They take away the need to write, to really write something meaningful, something genuine and unique. To many times I have let the card companies do my job.

My stepdad, Pops, lives in the oil community of Taft, California. For those who know California, Taft is catty-corner between Bakersfield and Santa Barbara. I affectionally think of it in the middle of Nowhere! It takes 2 days to get a letter there. My card with letter enclosed needed to be mailed today.

Pops was my mom's second husband. He married Mom when I was in 2nd or 3rd grade. Even though I always had a relationship with my real Dad, Pops was the dad that my real Dad never could have been. Pops loved me when I wasn't very lovable.

His fingerprints are all over my life and my lifestyle. I'll always be grateful that he loved me, cared for me, and nurtured me.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. I backblipped our "San Diego To Corona" journey a few hours into this Thursday -- it was a full and fun Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.