Refining the Edges

By refiningedges

Shaded Fir

I had a wonderful walk today. It was still warm at about 20 C., even at 6pm. There were lots of bird songs, including my favorite of the Swainson's Thrush. This thrush is a very nondescript bird with a rich and melodious call; mostly heard in deep deciduous forests around here. I also spied and photographed a beautiful woodpecker, but the photo was not very good when I uploaded it to have a look.

I took this photo of the trunk of a huge fir tree, not realizing how well the pic was going to turn out. Somehow the lighting was just right to bring out the shadows in a very haunting way. I hope you enjoy it.

I have been so energized by starting to hike again, even though the hikes are very small, in comparison to my younger years. I hope to continue in this fashion and gradually build my fitness level. I would love to start hiking the mountains again, instead of just lowland forest trails. We'll see.

Today I planted the rest of my raised beds with corn, peas, tomatoes, cukes, 2 types of lettuce, celery, winter squash, red pepper, and butternut squash. I don't think the summer will be as hot as the last one, so the harvest may not be as good as last year. It was absolutely bountiful last year. I also hope to keep the deer out of the veggie beds. They prefer peas and beans. So do I! I'll keep you updated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.