Refining the Edges

By refiningedges

Mr. Birdie

This is a Stellar's Jay which has lived in my yard for several years. I feed him peanuts and he (she?) is quite persistent, following me from window to window as I move around the house. He presently has a mate who is much more shy, but I haven't seen any young yet. He mimics other birds to try to get my attention. He has a pretty good rendition of a bald eagle.

The cats would love to catch him, but alas, the kitties live indoors. It is very good entertainment for them, though. When I call out "Mr. Birdie", the cats scan the window, looking for their nemesis. April never tires of stalking him, even with the window pane as a barrier. Sunny is older and a bit more jaded, but I still catch her licking her lips occasionally.

I thought I lost him during the harsh winter of 2008-09, but he turned up again in the spring. I had become quite fond of him and was very happy when he returned. I am such a softie for animals and birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.