D77

By D77

Domino effect

In Cairo, you don't need to go far to find something interesting to photograph, but you do need to have your eyes open and your wits about you. Generally, I favour things that allow me a little time to compose, focus and expose the shot properly.* I also like it when there's nobody around as I still feel a little uncomfortable with dozens of curious eyes following my every move. I'm getting used to it though, and am much more confident in what I like to capture offset against what I can capture, bearing in mind not only my technical constraits as an amateur, but also the required respect for the cultural differences.

One thing I've noticed more and more is that things don't stay the same for very long out here. The place is constantly shifting and changing and as such, photo opportunities you see one day will more than likely not be there after a week. Taking advantage of the opportunity to spend more than my usual 5 minutes here and there (which is what it's like for me during the week), I had a wander around my area today, camera in hand, battling the heat, trying to capture something reasonably interesting.

I took a lot of technically better photos today, but in the end the Bowabs dominoes game that I stumbled on right outside my flat was the thing I decided I'd be unlikely to capture again.



*I hope I don't sound like I'm blowing my own trumpet. I always find that a very irritating character trait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.