I Am A Camera

By photolau

365/34: Photogrrl

This lunchtime I was in Kent doing a spot of photography at a 50th wedding anniversary for a small family group at a very lovely restaurant.

Event photography gives me the opportunity to practise my invisibility skills, lurking behind pillars and capturing intimate moments. I don't feel comfortable taking photos of strangers without permission (as I've mentioned here before) and I prefer natural, unposed shots so this sort of job is really fun for me, plus I always feel honoured to be the one whose photos will be looked at my the family for years to come.

I find faces endlessly fascinating, especially older ones, and as I lurk and snap my mind races with questions. Where has this lady been in her life? Where is this child headed? What relationship do this man and this woman have? Is their journey written in the lines in their faces? Is my journey written in mine?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.