LightFran

By lightfran

It Takes Tu-Tu ....

The Basingstoke Race for Life (in aid of Cancer Research) took place today. I have taken part in a Race for Life run every year for the past eight years, but unfortunately, this year I had to 'bow out gracefully' on account of an achilles tendon injury.

I hoped to be fit enough to walk it, but my physio advised against it. My 'plan B' was to stand on the sidelines and cheer on the people I knew who were taking part, and take the occasional photo in between. There were a lot of people runnng and as a result I didn't spot anyone I knew, so I concentrated on taking photos instead!

I particularly like this photo because it encapsulates two of the main 'ingredients' of the Race for Life, fun and friendship. The third 'ingredient', evident everywhere, was bravery - many of the people running were themselves cancer survivors, had lost someone very close to them to cancer, or both. How do I know? Because many of the runners sported 'running in memory of/celebration of' signs on their backs, which were very 'telling', and inspiring!

More photos from today's race can be seen here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.