D77

By D77

Fantastic!

It was (and still is) 44°C again today. I didn't really fancy sweltering in the office and battling with transport today, so I took the day off. I didn't get up to much other than buying a muffin from Costa and getting some more portraits run off for the people I've taken recently. Here's one that didn't make it to my journal. It's of Ragab, the fruit and veg bloke. I gave it to him this afternoon and he was delighted with it. It feels good to be able to do that, I must admit.

This barbed-wire photo has stumped me for ages. I've taken it a number of times (on different days), but was never happy with the focus. The problem seems to be that, wonderful as my 50mm f/1.8 is, it doesn't do super-sharp at the widest thingy of f/1.8, which I always use just because I can, rather than because I should. I also tried it with my lovely new 50mm f/1.4 too (thanks Mum), but in the end, the best results were achieved with the 105mm. It seems that 50mms work best at f/2 onwards, which I didn't know. I'm in a bit of a quandry with the new lens. I want to get cracking with it, but am scared to introduce it to the manky Cairo atmosphere.

Some light salad and fruit for dinner is chilling in the fridge, which we're about to enjoy in front of a couple of episodes of the extremely impressive CSI:Season 7 before trying to finish off our rather elaborate summer holiday plans.


Canon EOS 1000D : f/2.8 : 1/400" : 105mm : ISO 200

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.