On My Doorstep

By bwhere

I like Hull!

Went to Hull to check out the new History Centre (which opened this year) of which this is the roof of the "lean-to" that houses the entrance, coffee area and a covered way. It was like a greehouse today. Luckily the area where the archives are is cooler.

I like Hull. A city of variety made more interesting because I kept bumping into a couple who were arguing about their home decorations. "Ten pounds for a border!", he remonstrated, slightly the worse for wear. She followed on, pushing a pram. I crossed the road not wishing to appear to be eavesdropping. But our paths intersected again. "You've already spent money on wallpaper now you want to spend £10 on a border"! She was giving as good as she got. I parted from them again and without a word of a lie, I came across them a third and final time. They had stopped in the street. He was topless with a can in his hand. "I can't believe you want to spend £10 on a border"! I kept my eyes averted and I left it at that. It was a bit like listening to Peter Kay and Garlic Bread!

Nevertheless I like Hull. I first experienced it after a night-time train journey in 1964 - but that is another story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.