Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Painting the sky

The day started cloudy, but in the afternoon the sun was starting to break through the clouds. I was waiting for a spectacular sunset that was mine to capture. Well, I was a bit disappointed as a band of clouds moved right before the sun a couple of minutes before it was supposed to touch the ground.

Knowing that after the sunset the sky just might turn into a beautiful palette of colours, I stuck around, taking all kinds of shots with and without the newly acquired graduated grey filter. I wasn't disappointed as the colours in the sky were awesome and the clouds were starting to look like someone had stepped right up there with a giant paintbrush to add some more colours.

This was taken not even one minute away from home (I just didn't have the time to get to a really good location) and there could have been something more in the foreground to provide some silhouettes but all in all I'm satisfied. With the weather forecast predicting nothing but good weather I'm hoping for even better shots this week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.