Sunny meeting place

It was such a hot day today and when I met Fred to cycle home, it was almost too hot to be out in the sun. I parked my bicycle on the astroturf outside the National Theatre. I love the set-up that they roll out every summer - the giant sitting room with huge chairs and sofa, and even a lamp. Brilliant. I didn't linger though since Fred arrived and we sped off to South London in search of a tavern for dinner. We found one at the half-way point, but it was too smoky and crowded with football viewers so we'll research that pub later. Instead, we stopped nearer to home at the Rosendale. We met another cyclist outside who was loaded up with bulging cycle panniers - he just returned from a cycle tour of the West Country. We chatted for a little bit about tent sizes and trying to keep the pannier load down, but hunger set in and we found a table. The food at this pub is delicious - the best potato wedges ever! A successful Taverna Tuesday.

Once home, we became a little disgruntled. The plasterer hasn't been that neat around the switches and some of them have gone back on squint. Argh. I'm working at home tomorrow so I'll see what he can do about fixing them. Otherwise, we may have to call someone else in to finesse those details.

Then we discovered a leak behind the washing machine. I think I've found the source, a bit around a join in the pipe that's wriggled lose. i've tightened it, but I'll need to monitor the gremlin for a while. Gah!

Then I realized that I'd forgotten to put the posh ice-cream in the freezer. I think I saved it just before it became cream again.

Editor's note - the first six comments below belong to yesterday's entry. Blame the iPhone gremlin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.