Martin's Daily Photo

By MartinGBEdwards

Frame Making

We are in the height of the swarming season and it is a time when beekeepers traditionally get short of equipment! An artifical swarm procedure requires a separate hive filled with new frames. If one is called out to pick up a swarm these will require a new hive. We aways run short of frames.
I have been busy this evening making up frames. They come as machined wooden parts which have to be assembled, a thin sheet of wax (foundation) slipped into it and the whole thing nailed together with 11 nails. I recently invested in a nail gun to make the processe easier. Each box needs 10 or 11 frames and I have made up hundreds of frames in my time.
This year we ran a couple of training courses for beginners. The practical excercise was frame making - I managed to get a head start on my frame making (50) from that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.