A wee bit of this & that

By frayedattheedge

Dead centre of the city

Ok, bad joke I know but it's a family thing. Every time we drove past a village & saw the cemetery someone in my family had to shout out dead centre. I still do it but normally just in my head.

This is a lovely cemetery beside the Ramshorn Theatre in the Merchant City. As well as the usual tombstones there are these strange iron open tombs. Can anyone enlighten me about why they were designed like this? There are inscriptions in the stone walls to the occupant but only one so it's not a family grave. Bars are also deliberately missing so you could go in, I presume to leave flowers, and they must have cost a fortune in their day but there is nothng grand inside them. Is this a Presbyterian thing rather than Roman Catholic?

As for my work, well that was freaky. Tommy Smith was playing his piece Torah as part of the Jazz Festival and if they hadn't have played Duke Ellington's Shakespeare Suite in the second half I would have been having nightmares. Torah is an interpretation of the Old Testiment. If you know any of that you might have an idea of how heavy and freaky it was. Still the audience seemed to enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.