Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

The Rose

Yesterday I took a vibrantly colored flower and turned it into a black and white. Unusual for me. But I liked it. My black & white loving friends adored it. But today, I knew that I needed to get back to my roots, back to the pop and back to the flare.......BA BAM, viva la bright red rose.

This morning I asked my son if he wanted to go to the park to meet up with some of his preschool friends. I've never seen him move so fast in the morning. He had a grin from ear to ear. His eyes lit up like a blue moon (is that an expression or did I just make that up). Anyways, we went to the park and he had a ball. And so did his little sister of course. It was nice seeing a couple of the preschool moms and wonderful watching my son playing with his friends. At one point they were dinosaurs and were all yelling "Meat Eaters" as they raced down the slide.

It's important to me to keep my kids social. I want them to feel comfortable around their peers and begin to understand the joy of establishing close friendships. Family and friends are of the upmost importance in our lives. The people who help balance us out. The ones who help us feel safe, welcomed and loved.

So much growth and learning happens out on the playground. I watched my daughter slowly gain the confidence needed to walk up the stairs towards the slide. I saw my son paying careful attention to the rules of tag. Little things that can really only be taught by interacting with other kids. Today we hit 85 degrees and we were all melting. But it was nice to see the sun, hear the birds, and spend some time amongst the company of a busy bustling park.

The rose.......bright, bold, dynamic. Standing tall on this bright and sunshiny day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.