Surprise

I visited the Arboretum today intending to capture some pictures of butterflies. Walking along the path in the butterfly garden, I was startled by this snake. It was apparently just as startled because it hastily retreated to the hole under the rocks. I walked a few steps further and then stopped and watched to see if it would come out again. Sure enough it did. I guess it really wanted to get to the pond on the other side of the path because that's where it headed as I kneeled there and blipped its journey. I think it must be a black snake or a black rat snake. They aren't dangerous fortunately. Then a little later, I saw a different snake by another pond. This one was not quite so large, and it had blue bands around its body. Unfortunately it got away without a photo opp. I didn't know we had a snake like that around here. Maybe I will have to get a field guide to snakes so I know what I am looking at. If you want to see a full length picture of today's blip, look here.

I also got some landscape shots that I wish I could show you, but they will have to wait for another visit and some more blipping. The snake was an unexpected photo opp, so it gets to be the blip star for today.

I worked on my backblips today, trying to fill in the missing dates for June, and I made some headway. Here's one of them. It's a picture of my sisters and me. I am slowly catching up with the missing blips and the commenting too. Hooray!

Today was a perfect June day, mostly sunny and just warm enough with a lovely breeze. It's getting late though. Time to say goodnight and go to bed. See you tomorrow.


EDIT: I just finished posting my other photos from the Arboretum in my smugmug gallery if you want to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.