A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Beatrice

All six of the girls are doing fine after their first all-night outdoor adventure. They were safe inside their hen house and nothing bothered them at all. When the auto door opened at dawn they all strutted down their ladder ramp and were pecking about when we woke up to check on them. My heart is happy.

Made a trip to O'Hare to drop off my good friend so she could fly home to Carson City, Nevada. It was sad to see her go. We had a wonderful time even though we didn't do a lot of sight seeing or touristy things. I asked her several times if there was anything in particular she wanted to do in Chicago and she replied, "I just want to see a day in the life of Deb." So that's what she saw each of the five days we were together. She wanted to watch the soap making process, so she sat on a stool in my soap lab and we talked and told stories and laughed while I made a batch. She watched me cut two batches and then she took some of the new bars home with her. One day we met my daughter Nikki and baby Morgan in Forest Park for lunch and window shopping. Another day we went to Geneva for Swedish Days and lunched and boutique browsed.

Now it's time to prep for tomorrow's farmers market. It's been a really good week.

PS: Hilda is doing fine but Beatrice has snatched the role of top chicken in the pecking order for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.