John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Robin with Chick

Another driveway blip--a pair of American Robins (Turdus migratorius) has built a nest in a small evergreen in back of our small condominium, and is raising three still very young nestlings.

I just discovered the nest only late yesterday as we were showing our guests around (see yesterday's backblip here). And today I took over 200 shots (mainly of feeding activity) with my 400 mm lens (with a 1.4x extender)--balancing on on a two-step household ladder using my tripod as a monopod. As you can see there is only a narrow window through the vegetation, and it was difficult to focus. I chose this image because it shows one of the chicks especially well; they seem to be just beginning to open their eyes.

An earlier blip of a robin is a bit more elegant. That's what I love about photographing birds--each capture is different!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.