Gifts of Grace

By grace

Pride and Joy

A dream of a day when I woke with no deadlines, no commitments and listened to this wonderful interview by two erstwhile blippers. It set the tone for the whole day.

This afternoon someone gave me the basket in my blip for my bike. This basket has had a life, it's big and strong and weathered. I don't know its history but I do know that I love it. It came with rusted brackets and an assortment of fixings. I could not wait to get it home, fiddle with spanners and Allen keys, trying this and that to find the best way to secure it. My father was an engineer, never happier than when taking a carburettor apart on the living-room floor. Today I felt myself to be his daughter. This ancient basket is my pride and joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.