Adda

By Adda

Cycling again

after the tiring day tomorrow, went cycling again today. Getting up early today for cycling was easier than yesterday. It was me and my buddy - someone who's always ready for biking. When I got on the saddle and pushed the pedal for the first time, I silently let out a loud cry. My butt was paining badly, making it almost impossible to be seated on the saddle. A part of me was trying to convince me to abandon the ride and head back home. But rider in me wanted to go on. I listened to the latter. The pain was increasing with every push of the pedal. But after sometime, it subsided. Either the pain was gone or my senses were in denial. The cool morning breeze had a soothing effect and I was glad that decided to ride. It was an all road ride today and a rather short one. I wanted to keep it short today. Didn't want to push too much in a single weekend after a long hiatus. Also, had some other plans laid out for the day.

Mrs Adda was surprised to see me back home so early. She was expecting me to be home a couple of hours later. I told her it was a short ride and I wanted to take it slow and easy. Then I told her that I want to buy a new bike and sell the current one I ride. I almost know which one to get. When I told my fellow riders yesterday about me wanting to get a new bike, they said that if I maintain my current bike in good condition, it would be enough for me...I don't really 'need' a more advanced bike. I told them that it is not about need. In fact for me, biking itself was never about need or necessity. I ride because I love to. Be it about photography or biking or travel or nurturing my adventurous spirit, lot of my decisions have been acts of impulse rather than based on analysis or reasoning. Sometimes, I just want to do things without wasting too much time in thinking the pros and cons. In such decisions, there's no fear of 'failure' or a decision going 'wrong', if you know what I mean.

I told her that it would cost about double the cost of my current bike. She said - okay, go ahead. I said - this is not done...you should object, argue and fight with me over it. That's what typically wives are supposed to do. She said - oh...should I? And that marked the premature end end of a prospective argument.



P.S. - Bhutan photos are up online (finally!) :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.