Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Raise high the roof beam

AKA Talk to the hand

It's been a very slow week for photographing the boys and a huge week for shoots and processing. I miss the former and this was a quick catch with the 85mm which arrived today having rented it for the wedding and knowing it was a perfect match. Yet, with school and therapy behind us for the Summer, I am glad for the greater time we are together, even if it means they crawling under my stool.

Last night I arrived home at 1030pm having been to Lowes, IKEA, Home Depot and every bath store in the county trying to fit out this new addition bathroom, Callum here standing in what will be the boys' new bedroom upstairs. I thoroughly enjoy bathroom design having undertaken many such projects in the past but when the plumber says "So I need the bath, faucets (taps), shower, vanity and sinks by tomorrow" along with the skylights, and an English match to watch tomorrow, my ideas for internet shopping and high end design go out of the window for off the shelf. To see the project in progress, although we'll advanced after only 5 weeks, I still wasn't planning for fittings at this early stage. Bummer. The addition affords some lovely ocean breezes and views of Downtown and the mountains. Now if I could move the concrete jungle between home and there it would be perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.