My boring life

By My_Boring_Life

Saltwell Park

This is a view of Saltwell Towers in Saltwell Park, Gateshead. The tower was originally home to William Wailes who lived there for a number of years. He had to sell the building and surrounding lands to Gateshead Council due to debts and his estate was eventually turned into the park that exists today. This building did end up in a bit of a state, it was declared unsafe to enter and stood empty in the park for a long time. I remember going to the park when I was younger and being told that if I ran around the tower 3 times I would see the ghost that apparently lived on the top floor.
I never did see him...
The tower was eventually restored to its former glory and now stands proudly in the center of the park, and houses an art gallery and cafe.

I took several other pictures on my trek around the park today, I was kind of killing time before going to pick my daughter up from nursery.
I was sorely tempted to post this shot as my blip for today as it makes me giggle. I took it so that it looked like the angel was hanging its wreath around the top of the tower. I also had this shot as a possibility. He was my little model and stood and posed for me a few times.

The rest of my photos from today can be viewed here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.