When I grow up....

An easy osy lazy kind of day. Finished clearing up the mess from yesterday and took the children to the beach for a run about. I had a run about too and let the sea work its magic.

I took this picture this morning after breakfast. Murron was sitting on the floor playing with the not so little kittens and I was standing on the kitchen table thinking about paint and colour and light and space.

Murron 'Maman.'
Me 'Uh-huh.'
Murron 'When I grow up I'm going to be a horse rider and an author.'
Me 'Cool.'
Pause
Murron 'Can I be two things at the same time?'
Me 'You can be anything you want to be, if you really want it.'
Murron 'Anything?'
Me 'Anything.'
Pause
Murron 'Why aren't you doing anything with your pictures?'
Me 'Er ....I'm just waiting for the right time (so lame!)
Murron 'When do you know if it's the right time?'
Me 'You just do I guess.'
Murron 'Is now the right time?'
Me 'Er..........'
Murron gets up and runs out of the kitchen shouting 'Rowan you can be two things when you grow up!'


Murron made me think a lot this morning. Why am I tying myself up in knots about this? What am I frightened of? What exactly is it that I am waiting for? I tell my children that if they work for it just about anything is possible and then don't apply it to myself.

Without even knowing it Murron gave me an unexpected but much needed nudge in the right direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.