Martin's Daily Photo

By MartinGBEdwards

Following the Crowd - a Bee's eye view

I was passing the apiary in the car this afternoon and found a swarm hanging on the hedge by the gate. I'm pretty sure they had come from one of my colonies. Fortunately I had my skep and sheet in the back of the car so I quickly laid out the sheet and knocked as many as I could into the basket. I turned it over on the sheet and noted that the bees on the outside were "fanning" the pheromone scent with there backsides up. This is a good sign because it means you have the queen in the skep and sure enough within about 10 minutes or so the rest of the bees all started to follow the scent and move in to join their friends.
You can about see the skep in the background and the bees are all queuing up to get through the gap. In the evening I shook them into a new hive where hopefully they will be happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.