Around the Block

By Barrioboy

In Safe Hands

Mark is one of Edinburgh's Environmental Wardens and I stopped him in the street in Stockbridge today to ask him what he did, as I have been away too long to have ever seen one before!

He and his partner were helpfulness and good humour personified, and he explained they were on the look out for litter, cigarette butt and chewing gum polluters, as well as dog fouling and abondoned goods like cars and so on. He has the power to fine on the spot but, no doubt, a friendly 'word of advice' also works. There was something very reassuring about Mark, for those UK-based and old enough to remember, he seemed to come from the line of George Dixon! I'm pretty sure Mark will drop by this page this evening...if so, I hope I've done you justice!

PS Also took this Stockbridge street scene (in my Blipfolio) to enter into a Stockbridge Calendar competition...you will need to enlarge it by rolling over and clicking the 'magnifying glass' symbol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.