On My Doorstep

By bwhere

I like Hull - 2!

The sculpture in the foreground, by the side of the Humber in Hull, is called 'Voyage'. With a companion sculpture in Iceland it symbolizes the link between the two places formed by sea trading. Both are a tribute to fishermen and other seafarers who have gone to sea.

As we were entering Hull today, my wife asked, "What did you say about Hull? Did you say you liked it?"! It was a practical trip to do some local history research. I left her to it and wandered round to take photographs. I grabbed plenty and it was difficult to choose one.

There was golden King Billy, the statue that stands guard over one of the most interesting men's underground urinals in the country - now sadly closed. There was the denture repair parlour, "Teeth Replaced While You Wait".

But I settled on 'Voyage'. Quite close to this statue there is a pier that juts out into the Humber and at its end there are flowers left for dead relatives. I fancy that they were lost at sea one way or another and this is the closest that their descendents can get to them.

I met my wife in Hull but that is another story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.