Enchanted

Apparently, I am not the only individual who finds the abandoned grain mill in my neighborhood irresistible.

It turns out that an independent investor relations firm from California purchased the property in 2004 for a song and dance with the intent of developing it into luxury condos. When the real estate market tanked, those plans went by the wayside. It would explain why, every few days, crews come in to paint out all the gang markings and more artful graffiti.

Its exterior is laden with 'no trespassing' signs and the wide, rushing creek beside it makes it difficult to access. You can't sneak in unseen from the bridge side but on the railroad side you have a better shot at getting right up to it and its bounty of textures.

Two intrepid explorer types have run into trouble while exploring its interior. One of them died after falling through a rotten floor to the bottom of the silo. Only two blocks away, we were awakened in the predawn hours that day by a helicopter hovering over the silo with its bright search light, trying to locate the unfortunate 32 year old male.

I don't need to tell you that I would love to see the inside but I'm a bit of a rule follower and a wuss, so I was happy to find this and see what I've been missing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.