Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Lemon Drizzle Cake & Summer Memories

Life is a big canvas, throw all the paint on it you can.
-- Danny Kaye


To be absolutely honest, I didn't plan today's photo journal entry at all.

Instead I baked a cake... a Lemon Drizzle Cake.

This photo is not a very good representation of it... it actually looks a lot better than this. I think either the camera or the photographer is not so good at food shots.

However, the cake is well, really quite good.

I found the recipe on the web: http://www.nigella.com/recipe/recipe_detail.aspx?rid=12459

I used a 2 lb loaf pan instead of the one described in the recipe and in future endeavors I might use just the tiniest bit less icing.

So I have no poetic observances about life today, as today life has been purely about cake.

So... and I know you knew this was coming:

I say let them eat cake...

Sadly, the truth of the matter is that although, Marie Antoinette is reported to have said this, it was in all probability an anecdote invented by Rousseau first published when Marie Antoinette was only 13 and, in fact, probably no one ever said, "Let them eat cake".

And to complicate matters further, the actual quote is: Qu'ils mangent de la brioche. Translated from the french means: Let them eat brioche.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Let_them_eat_cake

http://urbanlegends.about.com/od/dubiousquotes/a/antoinette.htm

I say, however, that closing my eyes around a bite of sticky lemon drizzle cake reminds me of running around barefoot on hot summer days...

I think I might just have another piece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.