just be

By justbe

A Bird's Breakfast

Mellow Yellow
Donovan

I'm just mad about Saffron
Saffron's mad about me
I'm just mad about Saffron
She's just mad about me

{Refrain}
They call me mellow yellow
(Quite rightly)
They call me mellow yellow
(Quite rightly)
They call me mellow yellow

I'm just mad about Fourteen
Fourteen's mad about me
I'm just mad about Fourteen
She's just mad about me

{Refrain}

Born high forever to fly
Wind velocity nil
Wanna high forever to fly
If you want your cup our fill

{Refrain}

(So mellow, he's so yellow)

Electrical banana
Is gonna be a sudden craze
Electrical banana
Is bound to be the very next phase

They call it mellow yellow
(Quite rightly)
They call me mellow yellow
(Quite rightly)
They call me mellow yellow

Saffron -- yeah
I'm just mad about her
I'm just mad about Saffron
She's just mad about me

{Refrain}

(Oh so yellow, oh so mellow)




Morning in Maine, birds singing symphonies, sipping strong coffee on the deck and watching the ebbing river tide as it flows to Machias Bay.

My maternal great grandparents raised five children here. My grandfather's unmarried sister lived here until she died peacefully in the ambulance in the lane at 97. She was a long legged old Maine salt, strong, full of life and enchanted us with the classic tooth -whistling local accent. My brother and I looked so forward to our vacations, we stayed at another relative's place while she was alive, but we spent most days with her. Aunt Abbie was always ready to do anything at a moments notice. She'd lower the oven temperature on the slow cooking baked beans, undo her apron and meet us smiling at the door. It was something to see her fold those long straight legs into the backseat with us, and off we'd go on a vacation adventure. She left the house to my mother and we have nurtured and restored it with loving care. My brother found a fabulous local carpenter and we have preserved the place for more generations to come. It is a place of great peace.

Yellow Warbler

The river below, in the distance.

Morning in Maine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.