just be

By justbe

On the road to Maine

Travel

by Edna St. Vincent Millay

The railroad track is miles away,
And the day is loud with voices speaking,
Yet there isn't a train goes by all day
But I hear its whistle shrieking.

All night there isn't a train goes by,
Though the night is still for sleep and dreaming,
But I see its cinders red on the sky,
And hear its engine steaming.

My heart is warm with friends I make,
And better friends I'll not be knowing;
Yet there isn't a train I'd rather take,
No matter where it's going.



We're packing the car and heading "Down East" to Machiasport, Maine for a week on the rocky coast. We'll travel over 6 hours and then take a deep breath and do only what we want to do for a week. I may change the photo at the end of the day, we'll see.

Thanks again for propelling Ms.Catbird to the Spotlight Page once more. I informed her of her world-wide fame this morning while she gobbled breakfast berries and fought with chipmunks and Blue Jays. She seemed unfazed, not a feather out of place. I'll miss her, but mostly it will be empty without our cats. They'll come on the next trip, but have to stay in Massachusetts this time. Our ride up will be more pleasant with them napping at home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.