A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Not quite the Himalyas

Today we went out for lunch to celebrate birthdays (me and my husband) and my sons promotion to Corporal, as he completed his 4 week carda yesterday.

We went to a nice pub which when we visited it last, just before Christmas, we struggled to get to in the snow.

Today the weather was clear and quite sunny, but it is a windy spot on the moors and I loved the way the flapping flags blowing in the wind framed the view.

They're not prayer flags (hence the reference to the Himalyas) but are flying as tomorrow this place will be the finishing point for the Oxenhope Straw Race. I have not witnessed this event but I believe they set off from one pub in the village, singly or in pairs, carrying a bail of staw/hay. They run from pub to pub having a drink at each one and end up here at the top of the hill. I imagine that is the last straw!!

It's in aid of the local Sue Rider Hospice - Manorlands. Tomorrow we are taking part in the Open Gardens Scheme- also to raise funds for Manorlands and guess what -IT IS GOING TO RAIN!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.