Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Seeds

Awhile back I photographed the amaryllis in the backyard. They possibly take first place in the spring parade that marches through our backyard. They arrive with absolutely no coaxing, no begging, no gardening expertise from either one of us.

Almost unbeknownst to us their long polished stalks appear with buds and the promise of something spectacular surprising us if we'll pay attention--an expensive fee for these two often distracted humans.

Patience is another costly attribute we pay, but soon enough just outside the window in our informal dining room we were stopped--I mean absolutely still--as they were out there in all their beauty. So undenibly gorgeous. They don't last long, though.

So we knew to give them as much attention as we possibly could. They would be gone long before we were ready for them to leave. So true of so many things in our lives.

Within days they began to wilt, to fold, and eventually hang lifeless from their stalk. When I could no longer tolerate looking at their crispy petals, I pinched them from their position on those long lanky stalks. I usually then cut away the stalks. This year I left them. Within days a round bud, of sorts, had formed where the flower had been. I showed it to Mr. Fun and asked him,

"What do you think that is?"

"I don't know," he answered.

Together the two of us couldn't write one page in a gardening book (forgive us); we just have so little knowledge in that department. We are, though, great admirers of the gardening talents and products of so many others.

So we left the "round buds" which looked to contain "Brazil nuts" on the stalks. Honestly, what was inside looked hard, like a nut that could be cracked to produce luscious delicious nut-meat.

We forgot, though, to continue giving them our attention. So several days ago Mr. Fun told me I better look at them because they were spilling their seeds all over the patio.

And they were. So I diligently gathered all the feather-light wisps of seeds, snipped the stalks, and brought everything in the house and placed it all on the table that we eat at.

I thought they might be a possible blip, if I could do them justice with my cheapie point-and-shot. So this is what I managed to capture. So many blippers are gardeners--tell me is there something simple that can be done with these seeds? and when is the right time of year to do it?

After yesterday's blip and the horrible news here, truly I had no desire to blip today and not an ounce of anything to write. So I'm swallowing my own medicine--I tell my students all the time that it is a writer's job to write whether she has anything to write or not. So I look at these seeds, the remnants of what was once beautiful and I know that they have the potential to produce beauty in the future.

Losing a couple of our darling four-legged children--a month ago Bob dog breathed his last and yesterday Katie cutie--this has been extremely painful because our hearts are all tangled with love for them, but these seeds remind me that the memory of Bob and Katie is a bouquet that our family will embrace and admire for the remainder of our lives. So as I am blipping tonight that's what I am thinking.

The caring comments left on yesterday's page from many of you have been meaningful and outstanding. Thank YOU!

My sis in Portland, Oregon, is more than a little worried about us. Today she sent us something to make us laugh and did it ever. I am including it here, so that you too might laugh. I believe that laughter is healing--I want so much to be healed from all the hurting. If you have the time, watch it too and laugh with us. If you've read this far, you owe yourself a laugh.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.