an image of teamdel

By teamdel

What about the Goths?

When I got on the train tonight there was a mother, her 2 children, a dog and loads of bags taking up all the bike space.

I squeezed in with my bike and had a brief conversation with the Mum. They were travelling from North Wales to Havant and were not enjoying it.
They had had problems at London as they had to get a bus as if they went on the tube they would have to carry the dog. The dog did not seem that big to me but they were sure it was too heavy.

I let them know they could change trains to get a faster one but under no circumstances were they going to carry their bags to another platform. Anyway I let them get on with it and they chatted to each other but at a volume which was impossible to tune out of.

It turned out that in their bags was a hammer and a drill to help with the sons DIY, and that the eldest girl (about 17) dressed all in black had packed everything she owned.

Just before I got off the eldest was complaining about a bandage on her arm, the conversation went something like this:

Daughter: "My bandage is getting all sticky and I hate the colour of it, why did you get me one this colour"
Mum: "It was all they had"
Daughter: "Well I will get myself a black one"
Mum: "You can't get black ones"
Daughter: "What , thats not fair, what about the goths, what are the goths supposed to wear, thats so unfair?"

Don't get me wrong I quite like goths but I thought the whole point was that they needed things to be unfair sometimes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.