Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Pole axed

After the long weekend and all the excitement of the Fourth of July, British irony there, I found it hard to pick up again in my fast-paced lifestyle, more irony.

It was difficult to find inspiration today. For me that is often a slow process and the hot weather these days renders that virtually impossible. I am looking for a quick fix and then being able to head back to the comfort of the air-conditioning.

So my 30-minute walk didn't really proffer much. But I did spot this power pole waiting to be erected at some point.

It seems JEA (formerly Jacksonville Electric Authority) is in the process of replacing old power poles in the neighborhood. I watched one being replaced from the back deck last week. I suppose that justifies the increased bills. I wonder when they will get round to lifting the power line at the back of my house. It droops to about eight foot from the ground and the squirrels use it like an Interstate.

I was sorry to see Uruguay exit the World Cup at the hands of Holland but it was always going to be difficult in the light of the injuries and suspensions they sustained.

It is also ironic that the cheating tactics, once so much a part of South American football, are now embraced 100 percent by the Holland players. The biggest cheat in this tournament has to be Arjen Robben for the number of times he feigns injury in the hope of getting an opposing player either booked or sent off.

Irony was where I came in and irony is where I must take my leave.

B&W conversion in Silver Efex Pro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.