Jimmy in the Green

Another lunch today, this time with an ex-colloeague from my Irish Life days. I've recently done a print job for him, and it was his idea to meet and combine lunch with a cheque handover. To add to the sweetness of the occasion, he even paid for lunch!

We met at 12.30 in the Baggot Inn, which is a good spot for a business lunch, and is very popular with the office crowd from around the area. We had a good old netter, comparing notes about what we've both been up to and reminiscing about the good old days. (Speaking of the old days, I thought for minute on the way to our lunch appointment that I'd stepped back in time. I've no idea what the significance of this quaintly dressed figure is, but it made for an interesting blipportunity.)

Walking across town after lunch in the pleasant conditions (a bit breezy, but blissfully dry and mild), I noticed the Bank of Ireland collonade in a bit of a new light and blipped that too. But it was while I was in Stephen's Green that I found today's actual blip. It's a bust of James Joyce by sculptor Marjorie FitzGibbon (who, I've only now discovered) was also responsible for the much better known Joyce piece in North Earl Street).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.