Getting the hang of it.

By Ladyjuliejools

Poplar Hawk Moth.

As I was on my post round this morning I noticed a huge moth on the door I use to get to some flats. I didn't have a big camera with me just my Blackberry so I delivered the mail and on the way out of the building took the photo.

It's taken me a while to work out how to get the picture from my phone to the computer but thanks to hubby it's here now to share with you.

I didn't know what type of Hawk Moth it was a first but looking at a moth identification website I was soon able to find out. It seems that these moths rest their wings so that the forewings are to the rear, that's why it looks like the wings are on back to front. The flats where I found the moth have lights on in the stairways all night so I assume this beastie was attracted by the light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.