magpie

By magpie

Face value

Started the week with an early trip up to Glasgow with the matriarch of the family and one of the elder siblings where much inane chat, ribbing and scones were had. We are so different, but it was an amusing morning nonetheless.

Back at the family home I decided to clear the greenhouse which was hosting a dead bird, stray raspberry canes, empty beer cans from parental bygone days (similar to the traditional sherry in the shed scenario, I reckon) and several thousand ants. Hmmm, you'd think I'd be able to blip one in focus.

When a delicious fruit resembles frogspawn on the inside, it can be hard to believe that with a ton of sugar it makes a fine jam. A bit like flowers, I am fascinated by what's going on inside of fruit and I was attracting gasps of disbelief as I sawed this blackcurrant in two. But look at its network. Is it me or isn't it great?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.