Plus ça change...

By SooB

Blinkered

Sometimes your life can shrink down to be about just one thing. Right now, it's the move. Today we packed, hired a van and took all the plants over to Fife. I hope they survive moving to a colder climate... Our book packing boxes didn't arrive today, as promised, so my packing schedule has been thrown into disarray. I might have to tackle clothes and kitchen ahead of schedule. Either way, I'm sure I'll be using most of this roll tonight. What is it with brown tape? Why does it have to be so difficult? The end disappears the second you tear a piece off, and while you're gazing in amazement at that modern marvel, the piece of tape in your hand has somehow doubled over and stuck to itself in an unpeelable, unremediable way. Very frustrating.

In other news, there's been much overblown reporting today of a head teacher in England being paid A Quarter Of A Million Pounds A Year just for running a primary school. I don't know how they get away with such mis-reporting! The guy's salary is £80 k or so, with the extra being for another job that he does, bonuses and back pay. He has turned round a failing school - with 400 pupils given a better education (just this year - not even including the ones who will follow on behind year after year) - and now it's an officially 'outstanding' school. He has turned around lives, changed children's prospects. Go put a price on that, and then tell me that 80 grand is overpaid.

I think I've been listening to the radio in the car too much today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.