Digging5: Left Hand

It's maybe my imagination, but I get the impression that there are more archaeologists who are left-handed than in the general population. Not sure if it's true, or why it should be, if it is true....

Anyway, this is the left hand of the skeleton I was exposing today. She's designated as SK2 (and no, I haven't dug SK1, yet) The bone itself is fairly well-preserved and strong, but most of the bones are pretty fragmented, and the clay which they're surrounded by has the consistency of cheese. It made for some delicate and difficult excavation.

I haven't enjoyed a day's work so much in years :)

The paintbrush and seed label are my tools of choice for the fiddly bits.

I'll be drawing a plan of her tomorrow, then lifting her. Judging by the wear on her teeth, she was in her early twenties, I think. Enough of the pelvis has survived in order to get a better idea of her age later on.


I was also keeping an eye on a young graduate student who was digging next to me. He hasn't had much experience in the field and I enjoyed passing on tips and tricks to him, as well. As you can tell, I'm definitely in pedagogic mode, just now.

Right! Bath-time and bed-time! Oh, my aching back...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.