dailykeith

By dailykeith

Swanderful

These guys were miles away when I first spotted them on the Avon in Bristol, but as soon as they spotted me they were heading my way at lightning quick speed. I couldn't believe how many of them there were.

I think they are used to that strange British pastime of feeding the ducks/swans/any other wildfowl (that don't really need feeding because there is an abundance of food all around them anyway).

Are we British the only race that do this?

Where I live, the countryside is so lush that whole houses, railways, bridges etc disappear behind a green canopy. But it doesn't stop people heading for the nearby canal towpath to throw swans whole bags of bread as if they couldn't survive without it.

Why throw them bread? Why not chicken tikka masala with boiled rice for a change? Or what about pork fajitas?

The problem is, the swans get used to the free grub and expect it every time one of those two-legged creatures appears.

Sorry to moan - I just don't get it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.