D77

By D77

Window on the past

Drawn attention to by MAiT (and in turn inspired by this), I thought I'd give the idea a try. This photograph shows my great grandmother (on the left) in her shop on the corner of Albany Street and Dublin Street in Edinburgh back in 1914. It is now a hairdressing salon.

It was pretty tricky to try and get the photo lined up properly, not least of all because the vantage point from the original has now become a reasonably busy intersection. That and the rather miserable weather conditions today. However, with Wingpig making sure I didn't get run over, and TractorFactoryPhotos holding aloft my manbrella to protect the photograph from the rain and wind, I think it turned out okay for a first attempt. I'm not sure what technique is needed to get it spot on, but perhaps a bigger print would help.

The short photo stop was sandwiched between lunch and coffee with the two aforementioneds. Enjoyable as ever, especially when lifting the veil on things TFP is far too nice to notice or comment on otherwise. (I think he likes it really though.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.