Picking up the dying rose.

Went for a walk in the park with the son today. The weather was awful but it felt really good to be out in the rain. It is something that I've always enjoyed. I did it with the man when we were students in Aberdeen, my 21st birthday party was billed as "Rainy Days" and people thought I was mad because I enjoyed it so much in Cambridge. It just feels good to get the wind and, even though I can't see a thing as my specs get all wet these days, the rain in your face.

Was worth it too. The grass must have been cut yesterday and the swifts were flying very low catching all the bugs as they rose up into the wet, soggy air. We just stood and watched them for a bit. Amazing speed and agility but I was particularly interested to see one in particular. He or she had a very different feeding strategy from the others and seemed to prefer to hover and then dart down to catch his prey. None of the others seemed to do it, but this guy did it repeatedly. Anyway, just found it interesting but then I find weird stuff interesting a lot of the time...

Home for a cup of hot chocolate and a bit of a play with the camera. So dark today that I managed to run off this f22, ISO 100 at a 30 second shutter speed - with the window wide open.

The image is yours truly picking up a dying rose in the daughters semi completed bedroom.

PS have posted this late again and it's all down to Meancoast. Watched the last of six episodes tonight. Don't know why I've never seen it before, but was really good.

Also just checked through comments and came across this link from ToWi. This has to be one of the coolest tool chests that I have ever seen. I don't suppose anyone has one lying around in an attic? Probably even less likely that they would want to sell it to me for a song.....??? Ah well, never mind. I'll just have to dream!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.