Neighbours

I don't think I was reading the last time around. As a critic so rightly put it, John Banville is a "writer's writer." So many little bits to savour, so much that leaves the reader with a delightful aftertaste. This book will be missed if hurried through.

Returned early from work tonight to go out for dinner. I enjoyed the food and the atmosphere wasn't bad either. But then came the part where the bill was to be paid. Including me, there were three contenders. And it became such a fiasco. Perhaps this is an Indian thing, all the forcefulness followed by philosophical musings about "Why I should rightfully pay the bill..." Unfortunately, I don't understand most of it and I am at a loss. After a point it is exasperating. To me it isn't a big enough deal worth going to such lengths over. But most of the others wouldn't agree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.