Friday evening

The light in Delhi lacks that pure quality. It always seems to be filtered through a dirty veil. Vehicular pollution here, despite the enormous numbers is lesser than it's counterparts. Perhaps it's the factories on the outskirts, perhaps it is the dust from all the construction, but I'm not sure. There are parts of the city that are exceptionally green too. The evening today was different. Soft, coloured light streaked in and changed everything for a while. And the deep twilight became its swan song.

Was also wondering, I haven't written anything lately that could stand on it's own. My thoughts have been but ricochets, almost like the damped remains of vibrations. And it seems hard to begin before I empty it off work. I am looking forward to the weekend.

Anyway, so ended my week where I cycled to office all the five days. That is a first. S needed the car today, otherwise, I wanted to drive. And then it occured to me how much I enjoy having the option. The option of driving, when I ride. And the option of riding when I drive. But if I look at statistics, I may appear to lean very strongly towards one of them, but just to know that an alternative is available makes all the difference. Freedom is what the mind believes. Speaking of the mind's version of reality, here are a few lines from John Banville, which I thought were a bit a genius in their simplicity:

"Henceforth, I would have to address things as they are, not as I might imagine them, for this was a new version of reality."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.