Things to smile about

By Maya

I am in love

A friend came over this morning, offered to take me and my daughter out in her car on a test drive of the new (on loan) camera. I offered up a few paltry reasons why I thought we ought to stay home, get on with the various projects we have on the go, but, realising I was still feeling a little intimidated by the camera and that these were little more than excuses, decided to feel the fear and go anyway.

I'm SO glad I did. I think I saw just about everything beautiful you can imagine ~ a photographers paradise... an old, tumbledown orchid house with the most beautiful window - glass and surrounding walls covered in a healthy array of mosses, grasses and ferns; the most beautiful gateway you've ever seen, overgrown with bamboo and grasses with a dramatic sky backdrop; an old stone wall with scattered poppies; a swathe of blue agapanthus towering above me; boats; the sea...

The camera worked its magic like a dream. I joked to another friend later that I was now a 'professional photographer'! I realise I still have a LONG way to go, but I am so in love with it!

I decided, in the end, to blip this one, the two apples my daughter and I picked from the tree along the way, rested on the table while she went off to play in the park for a bit... they looked so nice just sat there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.