Things to smile about

By Maya

Focus

This is the camera I've been loaned by a friend while I get to grips with what I need, camera wise. I don't FEEL very camera wise at the moment, I feel like a total amateur. Well, I AM a total amateur, taking lots of photos over the years doesn't automatically qualify you for quality, just quantity.

This morning I released it from the confines of the case it arrived in yesterday, where it had rested ever since ~ occasionally I'd glance over at it last night, more in acknowledge of its presence than anything else... trying not to let it sense the fear. I'm sure it's sensitive enough to be able to do that. When I say fear, I mean I've never used a 'proper' camera before, not one like this. I've used the point and shoot varieties before, the camera I'm currently using just a step further along the technological ladder. The prospect of using it has seemed a little daunting, I liken it to a toddler in a pedal car suddenly being handed the keys to an XJS.

Well, I got as far as taking it out of the case this morning. Remembered it had a lens cap (aha!) AND removed it. Remembered where the on/off button was. Even remembered (after a bit of thought) what the various symbol settings meant (oh yes folks, it ISN'T always that obvious.... not to me it isn't) but after that... well, I have no idea what the rest of the choices are to even make them. I did take a few shots with it though. Nothing outstanding, at least I don't think so.... now to figure out how to get them off the camera to check.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.