Things to smile about

By Maya

Strawberries

When I was a kid strawberries weren't sold everywhere and were an occasional treat. These days they're everywhere and everyone eats them a lot (or so it seems to me). We certainly did when we went fruit picking recently!

Cherries have become the new strawberries to me (and yes, I know I wrote strawberries in the title bar!) ~ more expensive, less easy to find and a treat when we have them. My daughter loves them... in fact it was she who was magnetically pulled to the stall selling cherries as we made our way home this afternoon. After drooling all over them I felt obliged to part with some cash. It was my daughter who suggested photographing them too, and, since another photo opportunity either didn't present itself, or (more likely) I wasn't paying attention and missed it, I thought why not!

On a slightly different note, I've been lent a new camera today to play with for a bit, a Canon EOS 400D. Right now it sits, acclimatising itself to its new surroundings, in its case under my table. It hasn't spoken to me yet. (Loosely translated that means I don't know how the hell it works yet). Truth to tell I'm a bit scared of it. Maybe tomorrow I'll get it out of the box and photograph it with my current camera. Get used to it slowly......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.